Fart

Why wax your skis ?

The step of waxing is essential before the winter season for themaintenance of the skis. In effect, the wax is a coating specific that not only improves the glide, but also maintains your soles. When one slips on the snow, the pressure of the spatulas and the outdoor temperature are melting the snow, creating a thin layer of ...

Why wax your skis ?

The step of waxing is essential before the winter season for themaintenance of the skis. In effect, the wax is a coating specific that not only improves the glide, but also maintains your soles. When one slips on the snow, the pressure of the spatulas and the outdoor temperature are melting the snow, creating a thin layer of water. The wax has the function of evacuating the water in order to guarantee a slip optimum and speed.

Waxing : there are two methods of application

Depending on your needs and your practice, there are two methods of waxing. First of all, the waxing cold. This involves spraying roughly the fart beforehand to choose on the soles and then brushing it by using a polish. This method is recommended for all beginners but also to the skiers in a hurry.

Then, there are the most common, that of the waxing hot. This last is highly recommended for best results and a waxing homogeneous on the tips. For this, you just need to bring an iron on wax allowing for a precise setting of the temperature. The principle lies in the application of the wax drip on the soles. When the wax to be cooled, you can scrape of the spatula to the heel in order to remove the excess wax. Finally, to get a nice finish, brush the soles in order to extract the wax micro-grooves.

The different types of waxes

Throughout the winter season, you meet a lot of different skiing conditions. In order to choose the right wax properly, several criteria are taken into account : the air temperature, the humidity and the granulation of the snow. Each color of wax is a condition of gliding :

  • wax orange : -8°C to 15°C

  • base wax green : -12°C to -32°C

  • fart blue : -6°C to -12°C

  • wax purple : -2°C to -8°c

  • wax red : -4°C to +1°C

  • wax yellow : 0°C to +10°C

Each wax has its own characteristics that are very specific to ensure you have an excellent glide in all circumstances. To prepare and maintain your ski equipment, you can find all of our tools for maintenance of skis on our site.

Read more +
Showing 1 - 18 of 18 items

Fart

Pourquoi farter ses skis ?

L’étape de fartage est essentielle avant la saison d’hiver pour l'entretien des skis. En effet, le fart est un revêtement spécifique qui non seulement améliore la glisse mais entretient également vos semelles. Lorsque l’on glisse sur la neige, la pression des spatules et la température extérieure font fondre la neige, ...

Pourquoi farter ses skis ?

L’étape de fartage est essentielle avant la saison d’hiver pour l'entretien des skis. En effet, le fart est un revêtement spécifique qui non seulement améliore la glisse mais entretient également vos semelles. Lorsque l’on glisse sur la neige, la pression des spatules et la température extérieure font fondre la neige, créant ainsi une fine couche d’eau. Le fart a pour fonction d’évacuer l’eau afin de garantir une glisse optimale et de gagner en vitesse.

Fartage : deux méthodes d’application

Selon vos besoins et votre pratique, il existe deux méthodes de fartage. Tout d’abord, le fartage à froid. Cela consiste à pulvériser grossièrement le fart préalablement choisir sur les semelles puis à le brosser à l’aide d’un polish. Cette méthode est recommandée pour tous les débutants mais également les skieurs pressés.

Ensuite, il existe l’application la plus répandue, celle du fartage à chaud. Cette dernière est vivement conseillée pour obtenir de meilleurs résultats et un fartage homogène sur les spatules. Pour cela, il vous suffit de vous munir d’un fer à farter permettant un réglage précis de la température. Le principe réside dans l’application du fart goutte à goutte sur les semelles. Lorsque le fart à refroidi, vous pouvez racler de la spatule au talon afin d‘enlever l’excédent de fart. Enfin, pour obtenir une belle finition, brossez les semelles afin d’extraire le fart des micro-rainures.

Les différents types de farts

Tout au long de la saison d’hiver, vous rencontrer différentes conditions de glisse. Afin de bien choisir le fart adéquate, différents critères sont à prendre en compte : la température de l’air, le taux d’humidité ainsi que la granulation de la neige. Chaque couleur de fart correspond à une condition de glisse bien précise :

  • fart orange : -8°C à 15°C

  • fart vert : -12°C à -32°C

  • fart bleu : -6°C à -12°C

  • fart violet : -2°C à -8°c

  • fart rouge : -4°C à +1°C

  • fart jaune : 0°C à +10°C

Chaque fart possède des caractéristiques bien spécifiques afin de vous garantir une excellente glisse en toute circonstance. Pour préparer et entretenir votre matériel de ski, retrouvez tous nos outils d'entretien skis sur notre site.

Lire la suite +
Résultats 1 - 18 sur 19.